Sarajevo is the capital of Bosnia and Herzegovina, country’s administrative, economic, cultural, education and sport center. The City of Sarajevo is divided into four municipalities: Stari Grad, Center, Novo Sarajevo and Novi Grad.

It is located in the Sarajevo Field, surrounded by the Olympic Mountains Bjelasnica, Igman,
Jahorina and Trebevic. The average land elevation of the city is 500 meters above sea level.

Most of Sarajevo’s tourist attractions are located in the Old Town known as Bascarsija spreading towards the city center easily reachable on foot and well connected to other parts of the city and to the surrounding mountains and other natural and cultural sites.